- 09 May 1992 United Nations Framework Convention on Climate Change (UNFCCC) treaty is signed and paves the way for the 1992 Earth Summit in Rio de Janeiro.
- 21 March 1994 sufficient UN member states ratify the UNFCCC treaty to become adopted. The UNFCCC objective is to "stabilize greenhouse gas concentrations in the atmosphere at a level that would prevent dangerous anthropogenic interference with the climate system". The framework sets non-binding limits and contains no enforcement mechanisms.
- 11 December 1997 Kyoto protocol adopted. This is an international treaty that extends the UNFCCC and commits state parties to reduce greenhouse gas emissions. There are currently 192 parties, including the UK, to the protocol
- 16 February 2005 Kyoto Protocol comes into force. The Kyoto Protocol implemented the objective of the UNFCCC to reduce the onset of global warming by reducing greenhouse gas concentrations in the atmosphere to "a level that would prevent dangerous anthropogenic interference with the climate system". The Kyoto Protocol applies to the six greenhouse gases listed. Carbon dioxide (CO2), Methane (CH4), Nitrous oxide (N2O), Hydrofluorocarbons (HFCs), Perfluorocarbons (PFCs), and Sulphur hexafluoride (SF6). The Protocol's first commitment period started in 2008 and ended in 2012.
- November 2009 Bradford council agrees to the formation of an Environment and Climate Change Unit.
- 2012 Doha Amendment to Kyoto Protocol agreed. This extended the implementation period to between 2013 and 2020 and had binding targets for 37 countries including the 28 member states of the EU. Only 127 of the required 144 states have accepted the Doha amendment and of the 37 countries with binding commitments 7 have ratified.